Total Pageviews

Sunday, July 26, 2015

Britain's Chris Froome won the 102nd edition of the Tour de France Sunday July 26,2015

Britain's Chris Froome won the 102nd edition of the Tour de France, his second victory in the cycling marathon

Chris Froome

Finishing in second and third place overall on Sunday July 26,2015 were Colombian Nairo Quintana and his Spanish Movistar teammate, Alejandro Valverde.
The 30-year-old Briton -- who had won the Tour in 2013 -- crossed the finish line on the Champs Elysees linking arms with his Sky teammates
Germany's Andre Greipel, riding for Lotto-Soudal, won the 21st and last leg of the race, the 109-kilometre sprint between Sevres and Paris, his fourth stage victory, coming in ahead of France's Bryan Coquard and Norway's Alexander Kristoff in 2 hours 49 minutes and 41 seconds.

Team Sky finished the race with eight of the nine riders they started with - only Pete Kennaugh abandoned 
The eight Team Sky riders to finish the 2015 Tour de France

2015 Tour de France



The 2015 Tour de France was the 102nd edition of the Tour de France, one of cycling's three Grand Tours

Grand Tour refers to one of the 3 Major European Professional Cycling Stage Races -

  • Tour de France

  • Giro d'Italia and

  • Vuelta a Espana

The 3,360.3 km (2,088 mi)-long race started in Utecht, the Netherlands, on July 4, 2015, and concluded with the Champs-Elysees Stage in Paris, France on 26 July. 

A total of 198 riders from 22 teams entered the 21-stage race, which was won by Chris Froome of Team Sky

Twenty-two teams participated in this edition of the Tour de France are -

  • 17 UCI World Tour Teams and 

  • 5 invited Professional Continental Teams

The number of riders allowed per squad was 9, therefore the field contained a maximum of 198 riders 

A total of 32 nations were represented in the race. The countries with the majority of the riders came from France (41), the Netherlands (20), Italy (16), Spain (15), Belgium (11), with Australia, Germany, Great Britain and Switzerland all having 10

Chris Froome became the first Briton to win the Tour de France twice, after his  2013 victory.

The second and third places were taken by the Movistar Team riders Nairo Quintana and Alejandro Valverde, respectively. 

A total of €2,030,150 was awarded in cash prizes in the race. The overall winner of the general classification received €450,000, with the second and third placed riders getting €200,000 and €100,000 respectively; all finishers of the race were awarded with money

There were also two special awards, the Souvenir Jacques Goddet, given to the first rider to pass Goddet's  Memorial on the Tourmalet(won by Rafal Majka of Poland representing the Russian Team Yinkoff Saxo) and the Souvenir Henri Desgrange given to first rider over the highest climb in the Tour(Simon Geschke of Germany won the Henri Desgrange)

No comments:

Post a Comment