Total Pageviews

Saturday, June 29, 2013

2013 FIFA Confederations Cup Final Brazil Vs Spain Sunday June 30,2013

2013 FIFA Confederations Cup Final Brazil Vs Spain at the Maracana Stadium,Rio de Janeiro,Brazil

"The champion is back," chanted the crowd of more than 73,000 people at the renovated Maracana Stadium,Rio de Janeiro,Brazil



  • 12 Julio Cesar
  • 02 Alves
  • 03 Thiago Silva
  • 04 David Luiz
  • 06 Marcelo
  • 11 Oscar
  • 17 Dias
  • 18 Paulinho (Hernanes - 88' )
  • 09 Fred (Jo - 80' )
  • 10 Neymar
  • 19 Hulk (Jadson - 73' )


  • 01 Casillas
  • 03 Pique Dismissed
  • 15 Ramos Booked
  • 17 Arbeloa Booked (Azpilicueta - 46' )
  • 18 Alba
  • 06 Iniesta
  • 08 Xavi
  • 16 Busquets
  • 09 Torres (Villa - 59' )
  • 11 Pedro
  • 13 Mata (Navas - 52' )
 The players of Brazil (yellow) and Spain step onto the pitch before the start of their FIFA Confederations Cup Brazil 2013 final football match, at the Maracana Stadium in Rio de Janeiro on June 30, 2013.

Brazilian Team Captain Thiago Silva of Brazil shakes hands with Iker Casillas of Spain prior to the FIFA Confederations Cup Brazil 2013 Final match between Brazil and Spain at Maracana on June 30, 2013 in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

The Brazil and Spain players lineup for the anthems prior to the FIFA Confederations Cup Brazil 2013 Final match between Brazil and Spain at Maracana on June 30, 2013 in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

Brazil Defeats Spain 3-0 to win Confederations Cup

Goal Scorers For Brazil - Fred(2 & 47th minute) and Neymar(44th minute)

Brazil's Fred, bottom, scores the opening goal past Spain goalkeeper Iker Casillas, right, during the soccer Confederations Cup final between Brazil and Spain at the Maracana stadium in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, Sunday, June 30, 2013





 Neymar with the 2013 FIFA Confederations Cup


Dutch Referee Bjorn Kuipers gave Gerard Pique Red card for fouling Neymar in the 68th minute


  Brazil's players celebrate in front of their own fans after securing the victory



Brazil, which won its third straight Confederations Cup, has not lost a competitive home match since 1975.Brazil are the first team to win three successive Fifa Confederations Cups. France won back-to-back titles in 2001 and 2003 

Year       Host Country             Winner     Runner-Up   Score

South Africa


Brazil, a 5-time world champion, beat the reigning world and European champion and ended Spain’s 29-match unbeaten streak(won 24, drew 5) It hadn’t lost since a 1—0 result England in a friendly in London in 2011

The title gives Brazilian fans hope that the five-time world champions have a chance to win the World Cup title in 2014

Brazil was eliminated in the quarterfinals in the last two World Cups and hadn’t won a significant title since the 2009 Confederations Cup in South Africa

Spain's last loss in an official competition had happened 29 matches ago, in the 2010 World Cup opener against Switzerland

Spain, ranked first for the past 20 months, is the most accomplished national team of the 21st century, winning its first World Cup in 2010 between titles in the 2008 and 2012 European Championships

Neymar has urged Manchester United's want-away striker Wayne Rooney to consider a move to Barcelona, saying that it would be a dream to play with the England forward


 Neymar was voted the player of the tournament


Golden Boot Winner Spain's Fernando Torres is flanked by Silver Boot Winner Fred from Brazil (left) and Bronze boot Winner Neymar (right)

  • Golden Ball Winner -Neymar(Brazil)
  • Silver Ball Winner   -Andres Iniesta(Spain)
  • Bronze Ball Winner - Paulinho(Brazil)

  • Golden Glove Winner -Julio Cesar(Brazil)

Top Goal Scorers
  • 5 Goals -Fred(Brazil) andFernando Torres(Spain)
  • 4 Goals -Neymar(Brazil)and Abel Hernandez(Uruguay)
  • 3 Goals -Javier Hernandez(Mexico);Nnamdi Oduamadi(Nigeria);David Villa(Spain);Edinson Cavani(Uruguay)and Luis Suarez(Uruguay)

  • FIFA Fairplay Trophy -Spain

Prize Money

Competition Stage
Final Position
Prize Money(US $)

Third Place Play-off

Group Stage
5th  to 8th place


What’s next...
347 days: that’s what fans have to wait until another international football tournament begins in Brazil

Ashes 2013: England v Australia -July 10 - Aug 25,2013

The 2013 Ashes series is a forthcoming series of Test Cricket Matches to be contested between England and Australia to be played in the 5 venues of - Lord's,Old Trafford,Trent Bridge,Riverside Ground and The Oval

The Ashes Results

Summary -1882  to 2010-11

No of Series Played
No of Series
No of Series
No of Series
No of
No of
No of

Last Decade

  • 2001 in England: Australia won 4-1 

  • 2002/03 in Australia: Australia won 4-1  

  • 2005 in England: England won 2-1 

  • 2006/07 in Australia: Australia won 5-0  

  • 2009 in England: England won 2-1 

  • 2010/11* in Australia: England won 3-1 

*The 2010–11 Ashes series is the only one in which a team has won three Tests by innings margins and it was the first time England had scored 500 or more four times in a single series.

Tour Schedule

26-29 v Somerset, Taunton (11:00 BST)
30-3 July Essex v England, Chelmsford (11:00 BST)
2-5 v Worcestershire, Worcester (11:00 BST)
10-14 1st Test, Trent Bridge (11:00 BST)
18-22 2nd Test, Lord's (11:00 BST)
26-28 v Sussex, Hove (11:00 BST)
August 2013
1-5 3rd Test, Old Trafford (11:00 BST)
9-13 4th Test, Chester-le-Street (11:00 BST)
16-17 v Northants (or England Lions if Northants reach domestic Twenty20 final), Northampton (11:00 BST)
21-25 5th Test, The Oval (11:00 BST)
29 1st Twenty20 international, Southampton (d/n) (18:30 BST)
31 2nd Twenty20 international, Chester-le-Street (14:30 BST)
September 2013
3 ODI: Ireland v England, Dublin (10:15 BST)
3 ODI: Scotland v Australia, The Grange (10:15 BST)
6 1st ODI, Headingley (10:15 BST)
8 2nd ODI, Old Trafford (10:15 BST)
11 3rd ODI, Edgbaston (d/n) (14:00 BST)
14 4th ODI, Cardiff (10:15 BST)
16 5th ODI, Southampton (d/n) (14:00 BST)

Australia Ashes squad(announced on April 24,2013)
Michael Clarke (captain), Brad Haddin (vice-captain), Jackson Bird, Ed Cowan, James Faulkner, Ryan Harris, Phil Hughes, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, James Pattinson, Chris Rogers, Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Shane Watson


  • The Ashes Series is being played from 1882

  • The series is named after a satirical obituary published in a British newspaper,The Sporting Times  in 1882 after a match at The Oval in which Australia beat England on an English ground for the first time.The obituary stated that English cricket had died, and the body will be cremated and the ashes taken to Australia.The English media dubbed the next English tour to Australia (1882–83) as the quest to regain The Ashes.

  • The 2010–11 Ashes Series is the only one in which a team has won three Tests by innings margins and it was the first time England had scored 500 or more four times in a single series.England wins the series 3-1