Total Pageviews

Tuesday, March 29, 2016

2016 Kerala Assembly Elections - LDF completes seat sharing with its allies Monday March 28,2016

Ironing out differences, opposition LDF in Kerala on Monday finalised its seat sharing arrangement for the May 16,2016 Assembly elections, apportioning a lion's share of 92 seats to lead partner CPI-M

As per the consensus arrived at the LDF liaison committee meet presided by CPI-M veteran V S Achuthanandan, of the total 140 seats at stake -
CPI-M would contest on 92 seats
CPI would contest on on 27 seats
JD(S) would contest on 5 seats
NCP would contest on 4 seats
Kerala Congress (Scaria) would contest on 1 seat and
Congress (S) would contest on 1 seat
Seats allocated to LDF constituents
  • CPI- 27
  • Janata Dal (S)- 5 (Kovalam, Angamali, Thiruvalla, Vadakara, Chittoor)
  • Kerala Congress (D)- 4 (Thiruvananthapuram, Poonjar, Changanassery, Idukki)
  • NCP- 4 (Kuttanad, Pala, Kottakkal, Elathur)
  • INL- 3 (Vallikkunnu, Kozhikode South, Kasargod)
  • Congress (S)- 1 (Kannur)
  • CMP- 1 (Chavara)
  • Kerala Congress (B)- 1 (Pathanapuram)
  • RSP (L)- 1 (Kunnathur)
  • Kerala Congress (Skaria Thomas faction)- 1  (Kaduthuruthy)
Remaining 10 seats had been earmarked for the parties that associate and support the LDF from outside

KR Gouri ignored
Former firebrand Communist leader KR Gouri, whose Janadhipathya Samrakshana Samiti joined the LDF in August 2015, has been denied a seat. The 96-year-old, a minister in the EMS Namboodiripad ministry of 1957 and 1967, had quit the CPI(M) in 1994 to float the JSS, which had been a constituent of the Congress-led UDF until last year.

The LDF is expected to announce the list of candidates on March 30 and its manifesto on April 5,2016

No comments:

Post a Comment