Total Pageviews

Sunday, July 23, 2017

2017 India Tour of Sri Lanka - Sri Lanka Announce Squad for First Test on July 26,2017

Sri Lanka announced their squad for the first Test match against India. Rangana Herath will lead the team in absence of Dinesh Chandimal, who has been ruled out due to Pneumonia.

Dhanajaya De Silva returns to the team, taking place of Chandimal. Seamer Nuwan Pradeep has also returned to the squad but there has been a surprised inclusion of uncapped left-arm spinner Malinda Pushpakumara.

The 30-year-old has not played any international cricket but is an experienced campaigner in first class cricket, he has 558 first-class wickets at an average of 19.85, and is among the top three wicket-takers in the Premier League Tournament. 

De Silva was always expected to make a comeback after Chandimal was ruled out. Pradeep comes into the team in place of Dushmantha Chameera.

Meanwhile for India, opener Shikhar Dhawan is set to replace Murali Vijay in the upcoming three-match Test series against Sri Lanka in the Island Nation. Vijay has complained of pain in his wrist while playing a preparatory match. The same wrist injury had troubled him during the last Test series against Australia at home.

Sri Lanka Squad

Rangana Herath (C), Upul Tharanga, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Asela Gunaratne, Niroshan Dickwella, Dhananjaya de Silva, Danushka Gunathilaka, Dilruwan Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Kumara, Vishwa Fernando, Malinda Pushpakumara, Nuwan Pradeep

No comments:

Post a Comment