Total Pageviews

Monday, November 25, 2013

2013 Honduran General Election Sunday Nov 24,2013

2013 Honduras General Election has been scheduled on Sunday Nov 24,2013 to elect -

  • new President of Honduras to serve a 4-year term starting January 27, 2014
  • 128 members to serve four-year terms in the National Congress
  • 298 Mayors and vice-mayors and their respective councilors and
  • 20 representatives to the Central American Parliament

Presidential Candidates
Outgoing President Porfirio Lobo Sosa is not eligible to run for re-election

Eight candidates were registered to contest the presidential election.They are -


  • Juan Orlando Hernandez (National Party)
  • Mauricio Villeda (Liberal Party)
  • Xiomaro Castro de Zelaya (Libre)
  • Romeo Vasquez Velasquez (Patriotic Alliance)
  • Andres Pavon (FAPER Democratic Unification)
  • Orle Solis (Christian Democracy)
  • Salvador Nasralla (Anti-Corruption Party)
  • Jorge Aguilar Paredas (Innovation and Unity Party)

National Congress of Honduras
It is Unicameral with 128 members who are elected on a proportional representation basis to serve 4-year terms
In the 2009 National Congress Election,the parties position were -
National Party won 71 seats
Liberal Party won 45 seats
Christian Democracy won 5 seats
Democratic Unification won 4 seats
Innovation and Unity Party won 3 seats

Juan Orlando Hernandez Wins Presidential Election
The results details are -
Candidate                                                     No.of Votes Polled         Vote%
Juan Orlando Hernandez                                1093618                           36.68
Xiomaro Castro de Zelaya                               858604                           28.80
Mauricio Villeda                                               603968                           20.26
Salvador Nasralla                                             406586                           13.64

Juan Orlando Hernandez was announced as the winner in a result the Supreme Electoral Tribunal's head, David Matamoros, called "irreversible", this followed initial claims by both leading candidates of having won. While opposition protests continued, Hernandez said the result was "not negotiable with anybody"

No comments:

Post a Comment