Total Pageviews

Tuesday, July 10, 2018

Dominic Raab replaces David Davis as Brexit Secretary

Dominic Raab has been named as the UK's new Brexit Secretary after David Davis resigned in protest of "a business-friendly" deal to leave the EU

Prime Minister Theresa May's office announced the appointment of Raab, a former minister for housing, on Monday morning July 09,2018

The resignation of Davis on Sunday evening has dealt a major blow to May, who has struggled to unite factions within her ruling Conservative Party.

Davis quit only two days after May had secured approval from her cabinet to negotiate a "common rulebook for all goods" in a combined customs territory.

The British prime minister said her cabinet also agreed to negotiate regulations for industrial and agri-food goods, ending the free movement of people, the supremacy of the European court and "vast" payments to the bloc.

In his resignation letter, Davis said he did not want to be a "reluctant conscript" and that he thought the plan approved "is certainly not returning control of our laws in any real sense".

In a letter responding to Davis' resignation, May said she was "sorry" he had chosen to resign and argued her proposal was "consistent with the mandate of the referendum".

Junior Brexit Ministers Steve Baker and Suella Braverman resigned shortly after Davis

No comments:

Post a Comment