Total Pageviews

Friday, June 10, 2011


Seychelles is an island country spanning an archipelago of 115 islands in the Indian Ocean, some 1,500 kilometres (932 miles) east of mainland Africa, northeast of the island of Madagascar

With an estimated population of 86,525, has the smallest population of any African state

 People and language
As the islands of Seychelles had no indigenous population, the current Seychellois are composed of people who have emigrated to the island. The largest ethnic groups are those of African, French, Indian and Chinese descent.
French and English are official languages along with Seychellois Creole which is primarily based upon French.
 About 70% of the population have a family name of French origin, compared with only about 20% family names of English origin.
Most Seychellois are Christians(82.3%).There are also small minorities that practice Hindus (2.1%) and Islam (1.1%)

State House,Victoria -  the seat of the President

Flag of Seychelles

Seychelles Currency
 is Seychellois Rupee(SCR) 

Victoria is the capital of Seychelles

The Seychelles President who is both Head Of State and Head Of Government is elected by popular vote for a five-year term of office.The Unicameral  Seychellois Parliament the National assembly consists of 34 members, of whom 25 are elected directly by popular vote, while the remaining 9 seats are appointed proportionally according to the percentage of votes received by each party

No comments:

Post a Comment