Total Pageviews

Thursday, July 28, 2011

Ramon Magsaysay Award

Ramon Magsaysay Award is an annual award established in 1957 by the trustees of the Rockefeller Brothers Fund based in New York City with the concurrence of the Philippine government to perpetuate former Philippine President Ramon Magsasay's example of integrity in government, courageous service to the people, and pragmatic idealism within a democratic society and is is often considered Asia's Nobel Prize.

The awards are given in 6 categories, five of which were discontinued starting 2009 to Asian Individuals and Organizations for achieving excellence in -

  • Government Service(1958 - 2008)
  • Public Service(1958 - 2008)
  • Community Leadership(1958 - 2008)
  • Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts(1958 - 2008)
  • Peace and International Understanding(1958 - 2008)
  • Emergent Leadership(Since 2001)
  • Uncategorized(Since 2009)
The Awardees will receive a certificate, a medallion and a cash prize of $50000

 Award for the year 2012
Six individuals across Asia will receive Asia’s premier prize, the 2012 Ramon Magsaysay Award

The 2012 Magsaysay laureates are -
Chen Shu-Chu, from Taiwan. She is being recognized for “the pure altruism of her personal giving, which reflects a deep, consistent, quiet compassion, and has transformed the lives of the numerous Taiwanese she has helped.”
Romulo Davide, from the Philippines. He is being recognized for “his steadfast passion in placing the power and discipline of science in the hands of farmers in the Philippines, who have consequently multiplied their yields, created productive farming communities, and rediscovered the dignity of their labor.”
Kulandei Francis, from India. He is being recognized for “his visionary zeal, his profound faith in community energies, and his sustained programs in pursuing the holistic economic empowerment of thousands of women and their families in rural India.”
Syeda Rizwana Hasan, from Bangladesh. She is being recognized for “her uncompromising courage and impassioned leadership in a campaign of judicial activism in Bangladesh that affirms the people’s right to a good environment as nothing less than their right to dignity and life.”
Yang Saing Koma, from Cambodia. He is being recognized for “his creative fusion of practical science and collective will that has inspired and enabled vast numbers of farmers in Cambodia to become more empowered and productive contributors to their country’s economic growth.”
Ambrosius Ruwindrijarto, from Indonesia. He is being recognized for “his sustained advocacy for community-based natural resource management in Indonesia, leading bold campaigns to stop illegal forest exploitation, as well as fresh social enterprise initiatives that engage the forest communities as their full partners.”

Award for the year 2011

Two Indians, Harish Hande and Neelima Mishra are among the five individuals and one organisation cited for the Magsaysay Award.
Harish Hande was recognized for "his passionate and pragmatic efforts to put solar power technology in the hands of the poor, through a social enterprise that brings customized, affordable, and sustainable electricity to India's vast rural populace, encouraging the poor to become asset creators".
Harish Hande(44 years) got PhD in Energy Engineering from the University of Massachussettsand MD and co-founder of SELCO Solar Light Private Ltd, Bangalore.
. He previously studied at IIT, Kharagpur. He is MD and co-founder of SELCO Solar Light Private Ltd, Bangalore.  
Nileema Mishra was recognized for "her purpose-driven zeal to work tirelessly with villagers in Maharashtra, organizing them to successfully address both their aspirations and their adversities through collective action and heightened confidence in their potential to improve their own lives".
Nileema Mishra(39 years) Master’s in clinical psychology shortly after her graduation in 1995 decided to address the economic problems of the poor rural folk and started the Bhagini Nivedita Gramin Vigyan Niketan (BNGVN) on a humble scale in her native village Bahadarpur, in Parola sub-district of Jalgaon in northern Maharashtra, around 500 km from Mumbai. with a committed handful of 14 women to realise Mahatma Gandhi’s ideals of self-sufficient village communities.
Nileema Mishra says that the biggest problem in rural areas is lack of opportunities and limited or no access to credit facilities.

    No comments:

    Post a Comment