Total Pageviews

Friday, March 18, 2011

The Richter scale for Nuclear Events

The Richter scale for Nuclear Events(INES)
measure the impact of nuclear and radiological events
Levels 1–3 are called 'incidents' and Levels 4–7 'accidents'.
The levels increase according to the severity of an event and each level is ten times greater than the previous level on the scale.
Events that do not pose any significant threat are termed as 'deviations' and are classified below the scale at level 0.
The 1986 Chernobyl disaster was rated 7

No comments:

Post a Comment