Total Pageviews

Monday, July 17, 2017

2017 Indian Vice Presidential Election - Venkaiah Naidu is the NDA Nominee Monday July 17,2017

BJP leader Venkaiah Naidu was on Monday July 17,2017  nominated as the NDA vice presidential candidate, will file his nomination papers on Tuesday July 18,2017
July 18 is the last date for filing of nominations.
The electoral college for the August 5 election consists of 790 MPs of the two chambers of Parliament.
The term of Vice President Hamid Ansari ends on August 10,2017
Venkaiah Naidu will now take on opposition vice-presidential candidate Gopalkrishna Gandhi in the August 5 election.
Soon after his name was announced by the BJP yesterday, Venkaiah Naidu resigned as Union Minister in the Narendra Modi-led NDA government
Venkaiah Naidu  was in-charge of Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, and Housing and Urban Affairs.
Full name: Muppavarapu Venkaiah Naidu

- Date of birth: 01/07/1949

- Place of birth: Chavatapalem, Nellore district, Andhra Pradesh

- Children: one son and one daughter

- Educational qualifications: BA, BL (educated at V.R. High School, Nellore; V.R. College, Nellore and Law College, Andhra University, Visakhapatnam)

Political Career

- 1971: President, Students’ Union, V.R. College, Nellore

- 1973-74: President, Students Union, Andhra University

- 1974: Convener, Lok Nayak Jai Prakash Narayan Kshatra Sangharsh Samiti of Andhra Pradesh

- 1977-80: President, youth wing of Janata Party, Andhra Pradesh

- 1978-83 & 1983-85: Member, Legislative Assembly, Andhra Pradesh

- 1980-83: Vice-President, youth wing of BJP

- 1980-85: Leader, BJP legislature party in Andhra Pradesh

- 1985-88: General Secretary, Andhra Pradesh state BJP

- 1988-93: President, Andhra Pradesh state unit of BJP

- 1993 –2000: General Secretary, BJP

- 1996 – 2000: Secretary (i) BJP Parliamentary Board, & (ii) BJP Central Election Committee, and (iii) spokesperson, BJP

- April 1998: elected to Rajya Sabha from Karnataka (1st term)

- 2000 (Sept) –2002 (June): Union Minister of Rural Development

- 2002 (July) – 2004 (Oct): National President, BJP

- 2004 (Jan) – 2004 (Feb): member, Committee on External Affairs

- June 2004: re-elected to Rajya Sabha from Karnataka (2nd term)

- 2006 onwards member, (i) BJP Parliamentary Board, and (ii) BJP Central Election Committee

- June 2010: re-elected to Rajya Sabha from Karnataka (3rd term)

- 26 may 2014: Union Minister for Urban Development, Housing & Urban Poverty Alleviation and Parliamentary Affairs.

- June, 2016 – re-elected to Rajya Sabha from Rajasthan (4th term)

No comments:

Post a Comment