Total Pageviews

Monday, May 22, 2017


Nauru, officially the Republic of Nauru and formerly known as Pleasant Island, is an island country in Micronesia in the Central Pacific

Nauru is a 21 square kilometres (8 sq mi)[3] oval-shaped island in the southwestern Pacific Ocean, located 55.95 kilometres (35 mi) south of the Equator

Nauru is divided into fourteen administrative districts

Nauru is the smallest state in the South Pacific and third smallest state by area in the world, behind only Vatican City and Monaco.

Nauru had 9,591 residents as of July 2016, making it the only sovereign state other than Vatican City with a population of less than 10,000

 After World War I, Nauru became a League of Nations mandate administered by Australia, New Zealand and the United Kingdom.

 During World War II, Nauru was occupied by Japanese troops, who were bypassed by the Allied advance across the Pacific. 

After the war ended, the country entered into UN trusteeship. 

Nauru gained its independence in 1968.

Nauru is a republic with a parliamentary system of government.

The president is both head of state and head of government

A 19-member unicameral parliament is elected every three years

The parliament elects the president from its members, and the president appoints a cabinet of five to six members.

Nauru does not have any formal structure for political parties, and candidates typically stand for office as independents; fifteen of the 19 members of the current Parliament are independents. 

Four parties that have been active in Nauruan politics are the Nauru Party, the Democratic PartyNauru First, and the Centre Party

No comments:

Post a Comment