Total Pageviews

Wednesday, May 31, 2017

2017 ICC Champions Trophy in England & Wales June 01-18,2017 begins today Thursday June 01,2017

England plays host to a major international tournament for the first time since the 2009 World T20 when the Champions Trophy rolls into town this month.


June 1: England v Bangladesh at The Oval, (10.30)
June 2: Australia v New Zealand at Edgbaston, (10.30)
June 3: Sri Lanka v South Africa at The Oval, (10.30)
June 4: India v Pakistan at Edgbaston,(10.30)
June 5: Australia v Bangladesh at The Oval, (13.30)
June 6: England v New Zealand at Cardiff, (10.30)
June 7: Pakistan v South Africa at Edgbaston, (13.30)
June 8: India v Sri Lanka at The Oval, (10.30)
June 9: New Zealand v Bangladesh at Cardiff, (10.30)
June 10: England v Australia at Edgbaston, (10.30)
June 11: India v South Africa at The Oval, (10.30)
June 12: Sri Lanka v Pakistan at Cardiff, (10.30)
June 14: Semi-final at Cardiff (10.30)
June 15: Semi-final at Edgbaston (10.30)
June 18: Final at The Oval (10.30)
June 19: Reserve day

The home side are hotly fancied to make a big impression on the event, which will be staged at three venues around the country.
Eight nations compete over 18 days at The Oval, Edgbaston and Cardiff's SSE SWALEC Stadium


8 - this will be the eighth edition of the tournament, and the sixth known by the name Champions Trophy after two under the previous ICC KnockOut Trophy format.
- it is the third time the tournament has been staged in England and Wales, and the second in succession.
- there have been six different winners of the seven previous tournaments, with Australia the only team to lift the trophy twice after winning in 2006 and 2009. South Africa, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, the West Indies and India are the other past winners.
- England have twice been runners-up, on their previous times as host nation in 2004 and 2013.
791 - West Indies batsman Chris Gayle's record all-time run total in the Champions Trophy. Among players present at this year's event, South Africa captain AB de Villiers leads the way on 378.
28 - New Zealand's Kyle Mills leads the way in terms of wickets but is now retired. Sri Lanka's limited-overs specialist Lasith Malinga is his nearest active challenger on 22.
145no - Nathan Astle's record innings in the Champions Trophy, for New Zealand against the United States in 2004. Finishing not out took him ahead of Andy Flower's 145 for ZImbabwe against India two years earlier for the record.
6-14 - Sri Lanka's Farveez Maharoof returned the tournament's best ever bowling figures, against the West Indies in 2006. It is the only time a bowler has taken six wickets in a Champions Trophy match.
11 - years since Bangladesh last featured in the Champions Trophy. The Tigers qualified at the West Indies' expense this year.
- three venues will host matches in this year's tournament - the Oval, Edgbaston and Cardiff. The Oval will host the final on June 18.
18 - duration in days of the tournament. The 2015 World Cup, in comparison, lasted more than six weeks

England to Face Bangladesh in Opener

England and Bangladesh will look for a return to form from their top-order batsmen when they launch the Champions Trophy at the Oval on Thursday June 01,2017

The Champions Trophy opener is set to feature several survivors on both sides from Bangladesh's 2015 World Cup win over England, when a hundred from Mahmudullah and aggressive seam bowling propelled the Tigers to a memorable success at the Adelaide Oval.
That defeat knocked England out of the World Cup and led them to adopt a far more aggressive approach to the one-day game 
Bangladesh come into the Champions Trophy bolstered by warm-up wins over New Zealand and Ireland in Dublin this month.
"Whatever you have done in the past gives you a little bit of confidence, but then you have to start again," said Bangladesh coach Chandika Hathurusinghe, the former Sri Lanka batsman.
"So whatever we do first against England, we need to start well and that's what we are focusing on."

In their last 12 ODIs, England have managed to post 300-plus scores in 10 matches, including a 444 for 3. In one match they posted 296 for 6 and the other in which they missed out was the final ODI against South Africa in which they were bowled out for 183. They have won 10 of those matches as well.
But, both teams suffered stunning collapse in their final matches before the ICC Champions Trophy. England were 20 for 6 against South Africa while Bangladesh were 22 for 6 against India in the final warm-up game.

No comments:

Post a Comment