Total Pageviews

Monday, April 3, 2017


Gibraltar  is a British Overseas Territory located on the southern end of the Iberian Peninsula

It has an area of 6.7 km2 (2.6 sq mi) and shares its northern border with Spain. 

The Rock of Gibraltar is the major landmark of the region. 

At its foot is a densely populated city area, home to over 30,000 Gibraltarians and other nationalities

Gibraltarians overwhelmingly rejected proposals for Spanish sovereignty in a 1967 referendum and again in 2002

Under the Gibraltar constitution of 2006, Gibraltar governs its own affairs, though some powers, such as defence and foreign relations, remain the responsibility of the British government

The sovereignty of Gibraltar is a major point of contention in Anglo-Spanish relations as Spain asserts a claim to the territory, despite recognising British sovereignty in several previous treaties

No comments:

Post a Comment