Total Pageviews

Tuesday, April 18, 2017

2017 Malappuram Lok Sabha By Election: IUML's P K Kunhalikutty Wins Monday April 17,2017

IUML strongman and sitting legislator P.K. Kunhalikutty won the Malappuram Lok Sabha by election by a margin of 1.71 lakh votes on Monday April 17,2017

Kunhalikutty maintained a steady lead right from the beginning.
The Left democratic Front (LDF) has improved its vote share by almost one lakh more compared to 2014 elections.
Meanwhile, the BJP suffered a set back as the party could garmer only 900 votes extra compared to 2014 polls.
The total turnout at Malappuram by-election on April 12, was 71.33 per cent.
In second place was Communist Party of India-Marxist's local body member and youth leader M.B. Faisal, while the Bharatiya Janata Party candidate N. Sreeprakash was a distant third.
The re-poll was necessitated after the death of sitting MP and Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) leader E. Ahamed.
Malappuram district is the citadel of the IUML and Ahamed won the 2014 polls with a record margin of 1.94 lakh votes.
But during the 2016 assembly elections, the margin of the IUML legislators, who won in all the seven assembly constituencies, came down to 1.18 lakh votes.
The outcome of the poll could well be the first indicator on how well the 10-month-old Pinarayi Vijayan government has functioned

No comments:

Post a Comment