Total Pageviews

Tuesday, June 12, 2018

2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia June 14 - July 15,2018 - All You Need To Know About The Participating Teams

The 2018 FIFA World Cup 2018 is the 21st edition of the tournament is set to begin on June 14 ,2018 where the members of Fédération Internationale de Football Association (French for International Federation of Association Football) will compete for the prestigious trophy.

 FIFA was founded in 1904 to oversee international competition among the national associations of Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

Headquartered in Zürich, its membership now comprises 211 national associations.

 Member countries must each also be members of one of the six regional confederations into which the world is divided: Africa, Asia, Europe, North & Central America and the Caribbean, Oceania, and South America.

This will be the first World Cup held in Europe since the 2006 tournament in Germany, the first ever to be held in Eastern Europe and the 11th time that it has been held in Europe

In the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia, 31 teams along with the host country (Russia) will fight for the trophy on the Soviet land.

Teams Qualified  are -

UEFA (Europe) - 14

Russia (host), Belgium, Germany, England, Spain, Poland, Iceland, Serbia, France, Portugal, Switzerland, Croatia, Sweden, Denmark

AFC (Asia) - 5

Qualified: Iran, South Korea, Japan, Saudi Arabia, Australia

CAF (Africa) - 5

Qualified: Nigeria, Egypt, Senegal, Tunisia, Morocco

CONCACAF (North America) - 3

Qualified: Mexico, Costa Rica, Panama

CONMEBOL (South America) - 5

Qualified: Brazil, Uruguay, Argentina, Colombia, Peru

Of the 32 teams, 20 will be making back-to-back appearances following the last tournament in 2014, including defending champions Germany

Iceland and Panama will both be making their first appearances

No comments:

Post a Comment