Total Pageviews

Saturday, June 16, 2018

FC Barcelona achieve rare history in 88-year history of FIFA World Cup

A rare distinction has come FC Barcelona's way with the FIFA Football World Cup in Russia. The Spanish La Liga champions have become the first club in the 88-year history of the football extravaganza to have at least one player in each of the eight groups in the World Cup.

However, this should not come as a surprise for the Catalan giants whose fan following is massive and are regarded as one of the most successful clubs in football history.

The 25-time winners of La Liga and four times champions of Champions League, Barcelona attract top footballers from across continents.

Here is a list of Barcelona players in each of the World Cup groups, as pointed out first by a Reddit user u/malalatargaryen.

Group A: Luis Suárez (Uruguay)
Group B: Andrés Iniesta, Sergio Busquets, Gerard Piqué, and Jordi Alba (Spain)
Group C: Samuel Umtiti and Ousmane Dembélé (France)
Group D: Lionel Messi (Argentina), Ivan Rakitić (Croatia)
roup E: Phillipe Coutinho and Paulinho (Brazil)
Group F: Marc-André ter Stegen (Germany)
Group G: Thomas Vermaelen (Belgium)
Group H: Yerry Mina (Colombia)

As many as 32 teams from five different continents are participating in the ongoing World Cup which will conclude with the summit clash between the top two teams on July 15.

Barcelona’s biggest star, Lionel Messi, was in action on Saturday. The Argentina star, though, had a forgettable night as he missed a penalty and his team was held to a 1-1 draw by Iceland.

No comments:

Post a Comment