Total Pageviews

Thursday, May 31, 2018

Farmers in 7 states start 10-day strike, stop supply of milk, other commodities Friday June 01,2018

Farmers in 7 states are on a 10-day protest, starting today, and are demanding that the government should pay them the promised minimum support price (MSP) at the earliest.

The 7 states where the protests will be held are: Haryana, Rajasthan, Jammu and Kashmir, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Karnataka and Kerala.

The protests are being held under the banner of Rashtriya Kisan Mahasangh (RKM), a federation of 130 farmers' organisation. Under the protests, farmers will suspend supplies of vegetables and diary produce to nearby cities for 10 days and stage roadside dharnas along 30 major highways in the country.

"Farmers will not block any roads. The protests will be peaceful. Around 200 organisations have extended support to the protest," said Abhimanyu Kohar, national general secretary of RKM

The protest also coincides with the first anniversary of the tragic killings of farmers in Mandsaur, Madhya Pradesh, where five farmers were allegedly killed in police firing during protests on June 6 last year.

No comments:

Post a Comment