Total Pageviews

Saturday, March 31, 2018

2018 Commonwealth Games in Gold Coast,Queensland,Australia April 04 - April 15,2018

The 21st edition of Commonwealth Games will begin from April 4, 2018, to April 15, 2018, in Gold Coast, Queensland district of Australia.

 It is the fifth time the tournament is being held in Australia.

A total of 70 countries will compete across 18 sports disciplines in the tournament.

It is for the first time, in history, that Commonwealth Games will see an equal number of events for men and women

India will field a total of 227 athletes across various sports disciplines in the Commonwealth Games 2018.

1. The majority of the events will be held in three clusters on the Gold Coast, with the opening and closing ceremonies and athletics at the Carrara Stadium.
2. Track cycling and the shooting competitions will be held in Brisbane.
3. Preliminary round games in the basketball competition will be held in Townsville and Cairns, in the far-North of Queensland.

* 18 sports; seven para-sports
* 10 core sports (athletics, badminton, boxing, hockey, lawn bowls, netball, rugby sevens, squash, swimming, weightlifting)
* Eight optional sports (basketball, beach volleyball, cycling, gymnastics, shooting, table tennis, triathlon, wrestling)
* 275 gold medals
* 6,600-plus athletes
* 71 nations and territories

1. Fifth Australian city to host the Commonwealth Games (Sydney 1938, Perth 1962, Brisbane 1982, Melbourne 2006).
2. Games' mascot 'Borobi' is a blue koala with indigenous markings on its body. Borobi is an Aboriginal term for koala.
3. Beach volleyball and women's sevens are making their debut.

1. First contested in 1930 as The Empire Games (a title that lasted until in 1950) in Hamilton, Ontario. Just 400 athletes from 11 countries attended.
2. Contested every four years, except for 1942 and 1946 due to World War Two, until 1950. Was renamed as the British Empire and Commonwealth Games in 1952 with the 1954 event in Vancouver the first to use the title.
3. The last BE&C Games were held in Kingston in 1966, the first time they had been held outside of Britain, Australia, Canada or New Zealand.
4. Renamed the Commonwealth Games for the 1978 Edmonton event.
5.  Kuala Lumpur becomes the first Asian city to host the Games in 1998

No comments:

Post a Comment