Total Pageviews

Tuesday, August 1, 2017

National Eligibility cum Entrance Test (NEET) - All You Need To Know

The National Eligibility cum Entrance Test or NEET-UG is an entrance examination for students who wish to study any graduate medical course (MBBS/ BHMS), dental course (BDS) or postgraduate course (MD / MS) in government or private medical colleges in India.

 NEET-UG (Undergraduate), for MBBS and BDS courses, is conducted by the Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE)

NEET-UG replaced the All India Pre Medical Test (AIPMT) and all individual MBBS exams conducted by states or colleges themselves

NEET was initially proposed to take place from 2012 onwards.

However, for several reasons, the CBSE and Medical Council of India(MCI) deferred NEET by a year.

The test was announced by the  Govt of India and was held for the first time on May  05,2013 across India for students seeking admission for both Undergraduate and Postgraduate Medicine

On July 18,2013, Supreme Court of India(SCI) gave the decision in favour of 115 petitions and cancelled the NEET exam and announced that MCI could not interfere with the admission process done by colleges.

Following the announcement from the Medical Council of India that it would introduce the NEET-UG exam in 2012, several states including Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Gujarat, West Bengal and Tamil Nadu strongly opposed the change, stating that there was a huge variation in the syllabus proposed by the MCI and their state syllabi

NEET was declared illegal and unconstitutional by the Supreme Court of India in 2013. However, it was restored on April 11 2016, after a five-judge Constitution bench recalled the earlier verdict and allowed the Central Government and the Medical Council of India (MCI) to implement the common entrance test until the court decides afresh on its validity.

NEET - Timeline

In 2012: The Medical Council of India (MCI) and Dental Council of India (DCI) had introduced NEET for the admissions in the undergraduate and postgraduate programmes in government or private medical colleges in India. However, due to several reasons, the CBSE and MCI delayed the exam by a year.
July 18, 2013: The Supreme Court scrapped the NEET exam in favour of 115 petitions and announced that private medical institutions should not conduct their graduate and post graduate admissions on the basis of NEET.
April 11, 2016: The Supreme court decideded to hear the MCI petition and on April 28, the apex court gave a green signal to a single common medical entrance test just before two days of the All India Pre-Medical/Pre-Dental Test (AIPMT), which is currently considered as NEET Phase 1.
April 28: For the academic year 2016-17, the SC agreed on holding the NEET in two phases. For the students who did not appeared in the first phase of examination, AIPMT examination will be considered as NEET 1 and NEET 2.
May 1: The Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) conducted the first phase of NEET, at least six lakh candidates appeared for the examination.
May 25: The SC cleared the confusion that private colleges would not be allowed to conduct separate exams for medical admissions.  
May 9: The plea filed by the state governments and minority institutions, to allow them to hold separate entrance examination for MBBS and BDS courses for the current year, was rejected by the SC.
May 20: The NDA government came out with an ordinance in order to keep state governments' examination out of the field of the common test. 
May 23: The Delhi government has made a decision to make National Eligibility Entrance Test (NEET) the only entrance exam for the admissions in medical courses this year onwards.
May 24: In a fresh move, the President of India has finally signed an order to put the common medical entrance examination on hold for a year

No comments:

Post a Comment