Total Pageviews

Wednesday, August 9, 2017

2017 Rajya Sabha Election in Gujarat - Ahmed Patel snatches victory for Congress


Eight Congress MLAs, including six of Vaghela’s camp, said to have voted against Patel.

This includes the two invalidated votes. One NCP MLA also voted against Ahmed Patel. Patel won a bitterly-fought battle for a prestigious Rajya Sabha seat.

The morale boosting victory came after days of intense tussle between the two sides for every single vote. The day also witnessed dramatic developments where the Election

Ahmed Patel polled 44 votes, or just a fraction more than he needed to prevent the contest from being taken to the second preference phase where BJP, with a comfortable majority in the House, would have won hands down.

All of Congress's remaining flock of 43 barring one —Sanand MLA Karamshi Patel who cross-voted — remained united and voted in favour of Patel.

No comments:

Post a Comment