Total Pageviews

Friday, August 4, 2017

2017 Indian Vice Presidential Election Today Saturday August 05,2017

 Image result for 2017 Indian Vice Presidential Election
The stage is set for the15th  vice-presidential election on Saturday Aug 05,2017, with numbers in favour of NDA candidate M Venkaiah Naidu over Opposition nominee Gopalkrishna Gandhi. 

Image result for Vice-Presidential Election 2017 
Image result for 2017 Indian Vice Presidential Election

The election will take place in Parliament House with the Electoral College comprising 790 members of both Houses.

Members of Parliament will use special pens to mark their choice in the election to be held between 10 am and 5 pm.

 The counting of votes will commence after polling and the results will be declared by 7 pm.

 No whip can be issued by political parties as the election is through a secret ballot.

The Lok Sabha currently has 543 members and the Rajya Sabha 244. The Lok Sabha has two vacancies, while the Rajya Sabha has one vacancy.

Apart from the NDA's 93 Rajya Sabha members and 396 Lok Sabha members, the AIADMK (50), YSR Congress (10) and the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (14) will also vote in favour of Naidu.

With around support of 489 members, Naidu is all set to cross the magic figure of 394. 

The BJP leaders are hopeful of crossing the mark of 500

No comments:

Post a Comment