Total Pageviews

Thursday, June 1, 2017

2017 ICC Champions Trophy Match 02 Group A Australia Vs New Zealand @Birmingham Friday June 02,2017


Australia and New Zealand have met in four completed Champions Trophy matches, all of which have been won by Australia - including the final in 2009


 Steve Smith (capt), David Warner, Aaron Smith, Pat Cummins, John Hastings, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, James Pattinson, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa.
New Zealand
Kane Williamson (capt), Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Neil Broom, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Tom Latham, Mitchell McClenaghan, Adam Milne, James Neesham, Jeetan Patel, Luke Ronchi, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor.

Match Abandoned as rain ruins play

History very much repeated on Friday at Edgbaston, where back in 2013 Australia and New Zealand had met in a Champions Trophy group match. On that occasion, the first innings was completed and the chase was underway when rain washed the game away. And this year? Ditto.

There was enough play in this match for Kane Williamson to score his first ODI hundred against Australia, Josh Hazlewood to claim a career-best six-wicket haul, and Luke Ronchi to spark concern among his former countrymen with a 33-ball half-century. But there was not enough for a result, with Australia's chase only nine overs old - 11 short of the 20 required - when the rain set in. And so the points from the match were shared.

NZ won the toss and chose to bat first

NZ scored 291/ 10 in 45 Overs ( Rain curtails play to 46 Overs)
Fall of Wickets(NZ)
Martin Guptill         26(22 Balls 4x5)
Luke Ronchi          65(43 Balls 4x9 and 6x3)
Ross Taylor           46(58 Balls 4x6)
Kane Williamson  100(97 Balls 4x8 and 6x3) - Run-Out
Wicket Takers(Australia)
Josh Hazlewood            6/52(9 Overs)
John Hastings                2/69(9 Overs)
Pat Cummins                 1/67(9 Overs)
Australia scored 53/3 in 9 Overs(Target 235 Runs in 33 Overs)
Fall of Wickets (Australia)
David Warner                  18(16 Balls 41 and 6x1)
Aaron Finch                     08(18 Balls)
Moses Henriques             18(14 Balls 4x4)
Steve Smith                      08*(6 Balls 4x2)
Wicket Takers(NZ)
Adam Milne                      2/09(2 Overs)
Trent Boult                        1/28(4 Overs)

Match Result - Points Shared as rain ruins play

No comments:

Post a Comment