Total Pageviews

Monday, March 20, 2017

BJP's first-ever govt in Manipur survives, CM Nongthombam Biren Singh wins floor test Monday March 20,2017

BJP's first-ever government in Manipur led by Chief Minister Nongthombam Biren Singh survived the crucial floor test in the 60-member Manipur Assembly on Monday March 20,2017

Governor Najma Heptullah had invited the BJP, which won 21 seats in the 60-seat Manipur Assembly, to form the government after none of the parties got clear majority.
N Biren Singh was sworn in as the first BJP Chief Minister of Manipur on March 16,2017
The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) had left no stone unturned to form the government in the state and has lodged all its legislators in a Guwahati hotel along with an Independent and a Trinamool Congress lawmaker since Thursday March 16,2017 for the floor test.
Only two BJP MLAs including the Chief Minister were inducted in the BJP-led ministry, while four MLAs of NPP, one each of NPF, LJP and the Congress legislator who joined the saffron party were included in the ministry.
The BJP won 21 seats and formed the government with support of four each MLAs of NPP and NPF, one MLA of LJP and one each lawmaker of Congress and Trinamool Congress who joined the saffron party.

No comments:

Post a Comment