Total Pageviews

Friday, August 5, 2011

Grand Slam Tennis Tournaments

 The 4 Major tennis tournaments, also called the Grand Slams are - Australian Open;French Open;Wimbledon and the US Open.
Both Australian Open and US Open are played on 'Hard Courts'.French Open is played on 'Clay Court' and the Wimbledon is played on 'Grass Court'

The Australian Open is the 1st of the 4 annual Grand Slam Tennis Tournaments – the other 3 are the French Open, US Open and Wimbledon.The tournament is held in the middle of the Australian summer, in the last fortnight of the month of January.The tournament was held for the first time in 1905 and was last contested on grass in 1987. Since 1988, the tournament has been held on 'Hard Courts' at Melbourne Park
( a sports venue in the MelbourneSports and Entertainment Precinct in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia)
 The two main courts used in the tournament are Rod Laver Arena and Hisense Arena and feature retractable roofs, which are shut during rain or extreme heat. The Australian Open and Wimbledon are the only Grand Slam tournaments with indoor play.

Rod Laver Arena                                                                                                  Hisense Arena

The Australian Open is managed by Tennis Australia, formerly the Lawn Tennis Association of Australia (LTAA), and was first played at the Warehouseman's Cricket Ground in Melbourne in 1905.


Trophies and prize money

Men's singles winner is presented with the Norman Brookes Challenge Cup 








Women's singles winner is presented with the Daphne Akhurst Memorial Cup










Prize Money

Champion -  $2,200,000

Runner-up - $1,100,000

(All amounts in Australian dollars)

Australian Open Most Titles

Andre Agassi (1995, 2000–2001, 2003) and Roger Federer (2004, 2006–2007, 2010) are tied with the most titles at 4 times


 The French Open held  between late May and early June in Paris, France, at the Stade Roland Garros(named after the famous French aviator Roland Garros) is the only Grand Slam held on clay court.
A French national tournament began in 1891; this was open only to tennis players who were members of French clubs. It was known as the Championnat de France, which is commonly referred to in English as the French Closed Championships. The first women's tournament was held in 1897. This "French club members only" tournament was played until 1924.In 1925, the French Championships became open to all amateurs internationally.In 1968, the French Championships became the first Grand Slam tournament to go open, allowing both amateurs and professionals to compete

Court Philippe Chatrier                                                                          Court Suzanne Lenglen

Trophies and prize money

La Coupe des Mousquetaires(The Musketeers' Trophy) is the Trophy Awarded to the winner of the Men's Singles competition.


Coupe Suzanne Lenglen is the Trophy Awarded to the winner of the Women's Singles competition.


Prize Money

Champion -  €1,120,000

Runner-up - €560,000

(All amounts in Euro)


French Open Most Titles

Men's Title - Bjorn Borg has won 6 times (1974, 1975, 1978, 1979, 1980, 1981)


Women's Title - Chris Evert(USA)  has won 7 times(1974,1975,1979,1980,1983,1985 & 1986)

The US Open, formally the United States Open Tennis Championships, is a hardcourt tennis tournament which for men's singles was first contested in 1881
Since 1978, the tournament has been played on Acrylic Hard Courts in Louis Armstrong Stadium at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Centre at Flushing Meadows-Corona Park in Queens, New York City.
 Arthur Ashe Stadium(named after the the African american Tennis Player who won the men's final of the inaugural US Open in 1968)
The Championships, Wimbledon, or simply Wimbledon is the oldest Tennis Tournament in the world held at the All England Club in the London suburb of Wimbledon since 1877.Wimbledon is the only Major still played on grass, the game's original surface, which gave the game of Lawn Tennis its name.
 The tournament takes place  in late June and early July every year.The Hard Court(Plexicushion) Australian Open and clay court French Open precede Wimbledon in the calendar year. The Hard Court(Deco Turf)US Open follows.The tournament is also notable for the absence of sponsor advertising around the courts. In 2009, Wimbledon's 'Centre Court'was fitted with a retractable roof to prevent rain delaying and interrupting Centre Court matches during the tournament
                                                                     Centre Court
 Wimbledon is scheduled for 13 days, beginning on a Monday and ending on a Sunday with the middle Sunday a designated rest day.A total of 128 players feature in each singles event, 64 pairs in each single-sex doubles event, and 48 pairs in Mixed Doubles. Players and doubles pairs are admitted to the main events on the basis of their international rankings, with consideration also given to their previous performances at grasscourt events.
 Wimbledon No. 1 Court
Martina Navratilova has been the most successful player at Wimbledon. She won 9 titles from a total of 12 finals that she reached.

1 comment:

  1. Hey........

    Thanks a lot for sharing a good article....

    By the way checkout the total information about the Australian Open Tennis 2012 like players, prize money, Australian Open 2012 dates , Australian Open Tennis 2012 Schedule and many more latest information from Australian Open 2012