Total Pageviews

Friday, June 16, 2017

United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC)

The United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) is one of the six principal organs of the United Nations, responsible for coordinating the economic, social, and related work of 15 UN specialised agencies, their functional commissions and five regional commissions. The ECOSOC has 54 members. It holds one four-week session each year in July, and since 1998, it has also held an annual meeting in April 

The Council has 54 member states out of the 193 UN member states, which are elected by the United Nations General Assembly for overlapping three-year terms. Seats on the Council are based on geographical representation with 18 allocated to African states, 13 to Asian states, 8 to East European states, 13 to Latin American and Caribbean states and 13 to West European and other states.

Principle Organs of the United Nations
1)UN General Assembly
2)UN Secretariat
3)International Court of Justice
4)UN Security Council
5)UN Economic and Social Council
6)Un Trusteeship Council

No comments:

Post a Comment