Total Pageviews

Monday, June 5, 2017

16th Lok Sabha

The Current Lok Sabha being 16th and the elections were conducted in 9 phases from 7 April 2014 to 12 May 2014.
The results of the election were declared on 16 May 2014.
BJP  achieved an absolute majority with 282 seats out of 543
Political Party      No of Members
BJP                    282
INC                      44
AIADMK                37
TMC                     34
Others                 146
Total                    543
Its PM candidate Narendra Modi took office on 26 May 2014 as the 14th prime minister of independent India
There is no leader of the opposition in the 16th Lok Sabha as the Indian Parliament rules state that a party in the Lok Sabha must have at least 10% of total seats (545) in order to be considered the opposition party. 
The Indian National Congress (of the UPA) could only manage 44 seats while the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam party from Tamil Nadu came a close third with 37 seats.
Mallikarjun Kharge has been declared the leader of the Indian National Congress in the Lok Sabha

No comments:

Post a Comment