Total Pageviews

Thursday, March 16, 2017

Manohar Parrikar wins trust vote, gets support of 22 MLAs Thursday March 16,2017

Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar won trust vote on the floor of the Goa Legislative Assembly on Thursday March 16,2017, putting an end to the political crisis in the coastal state for now. 

The vote of confidence was ordered by the Supreme Court on Tuesday. This was after the Congress requested the apex court to stay the swearing in of Parrikar and his cabinet, which the SC rejected.
Total MLAs: 40Majority mark: 21
BJP+13 (BJP)3 (MGP) + 3 (GFP) + 1 (NCP)3 (Independent)23
Congress+16 (Congress) (1 abstained)-16

Manohar Parrikar was finally sworn in as CM on Wednesday March 15,2017. 
The state of Goa voted for a hung assembly on February 4,2017 when it went to polls. 
As the results started coming in on Saturday March 11,2017, it was clear that the BJP had lost majority it had won in 2012.
 The BJP was reduced to second place with 13 MLAs. 
The outcome was so bad for the BJP that six out of eight cabinet ministers, including Chief Minister Laxmikant Parsekar, lost their own seats. 
The Congress was the single-largest party with 17 MLAs, though it came up four short of a majority. 
The Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) and Goa Forward Party (GFP) won three seats each, one Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) MLA won his own seat and debutant Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) drew a blank. 
Three independent MLAs completed the tally in the 40-member Assembly

No comments:

Post a Comment