Total Pageviews

Wednesday, March 15, 2017

Amarinder Singh Sworn in as Punjab CM Thursday March 16,2017

Amarinder Singh Sworn in as Punjab CM, Sidhu Gets Cabinet Berth 

Captain Amarinder Singh took oath as the 26th Chief Minister of Punjab on Thursday March 16,2017 in a ceremony attended by senior Congress leaders, including former prime minister Manmohan Singh and party vice-president Rahul Gandhi.

The oath was administered by Punjab Governor VP Singh Badnore at the Raj Bhavan.
Along with the Captain, Braham Mohindra, Navjot Singh Sidhu, Manpreet Singh Badal, Sadhu Singh Dharmsot, Tript Tajinder Singh Bajwa, Rana Gurjit Singh and Charanjit Singh Channi took oath as Cabinet ministers. Aruna Chaudhary and Razia Sultana will be Ministers of State.
The state can have a maximum of 18 ministers. The Congress has 77 MLAs in the Assembly.
Senior Congress leaders, including Sachin Pilot, Raj Babbar, Ambika Soni, Pawan Bandal and Ajay Maken, attended the ceremony.
This is the second time that Singh takes oath as chief minister, having served in that capacity in 2002-2007.
Riding on strong anti-incumbency, Congress stormed to power in Punjab after a gap of 10 years by winning 77 seats in the 117-assembly seats of the Vidhan Sabha.
Ruling SAD-BJP won 18, AAP fighting its maiden assembly polls in Punjab won 20 while 2 seats went to newly floated outfit and AAP ally Lok Insaaf Party.

Punjab CM Capt Amarinder Singh along with his cabinet in Chandigarh on Thursday.

No comments:

Post a Comment