Total Pageviews

Saturday, May 12, 2018

2018 Ireland Vs Pakistan Test Match @Dublin May 11-15,2018

Ireland squad: William Porterfield (capt), Andrew Balbirnie, Ed Joyce, Tyrone Kane, Andrew McBrine, Tim Murtagh, Kevin O'Brien, Niall O'Brien (wk), Boyd Rankin, James Shannon, Craig Young, Paul Stirling, Stuart Thompson, Gary Wilson (wk).

Pakistan squad: Sarfraz Ahmed (capt & wk), Azhar Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Sami Aslam, Haris Sohail, Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Saad Ali, Asad Shafiq, Usman Salahuddin, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Abbas, Hasan Ali, Rahat Ali, Faheem Ashraf.

The first day of Ireland's long-awaited Test debut has been rained off.

The match against Pakistan in Malahide was due to start at 11:00 BST but no play was possible after persistent rain and strong winds for much of the day.

The umpires held a final pitch inspection at 15:00 BST when the decision was taken to call it off.

When Ireland captain William Porterfield won the toss, on a sunny Saturday morning May 12,2018 beneath blue skies, his side officially became only the 11th nation in the 141-year history of men's Test cricket.

And having waited more than a century for Ireland's first Test wicket, two then came along at once as new-ball duo Boyd Rankin and Tim Murtagh struck with successive deliveries to leave Pakistan 13 for two.

Despite a fine fifty from top-order batsman Asad Shafiq, Pakistan continued to lose wickets before an unbeaten seventh-wicket partnership of 109 between Shadab Khan (52 not out) and Faheem Ashraf (61 not out) turned the tide to leave the tourists 268/6 when bad light and a heavy downpour led to an early close

No comments:

Post a Comment