Total Pageviews

Monday, April 17, 2017

2017 MCD Elections - Candidates and Parties

Delhi's civic body polls scheduled to be held on April 23,2017

Over 1.32 crore people, including 1.10 lakh new voters, will cast their votes for the North, East and South Municipal Corporations of Delhi.

This will be the first civic poll after the latest delimitation exercise which has redrawn the 272 civic wards based on 2011 Census. Each ward now has an average of 60,000 people with an estimated 40,000 voters. 

Before the delimitation, every constituency had four wards, but now the number ranges from three to seven. The erstwhile unified Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) was trifurcated in 2012 into North, South and East Municipal Corporations. While the North and South Corporation have 104 wards each, East Corporation has 64.

For the first time in MCD elections, None Of The Above (NOTA) option will be available to voters.

 The number of candidates in the wards range from three to 23. One EVM can accommodate 16 candidates.

The BJP, who posted a spectacular win in the Uttar Pradesh and Uttarkhand, hopes to repeat its stupendous feat in Delhi. 

The BJP, which has been at the helm of MCD for the last 10 years, has decided to field none of its 153 sitting councillors and contest the polls with only fresh faces

Congress, on the other hand, hopes to win back lost fortune in the national capital

BJP Candidates
  • Poorva Sankla, contesting from Raghubir Nagar, is a 22-year-old software engineer
  • Raj Kumar Ballan contesting from Brahmpuri (EDMC)
  • Jai Prakash JP given ticket from Sadar Bazar (NDMC)
  • Delhi BJP vice-president Shikha Rai (contested assembly polls previously)
  • Delhi BJP vice-president Kamljeet Sherawat (contested assembly polls previously)
  • Amrish Gautam, who left Congress and joined BJP, is a prominent leader and Dalit face
  • Poonam Parasar Jha, Delhi BJP's Mahila Morcha president and wife of former MLA Anil Jha, is contesting from Mubarakpur Dabas (NDMC)
  • Jamal Haidar contesting from Abul Fazal Enclave in South Delhi Municipal Corporation (SDMC)
  • Kuwar Rafi contesting from Zakir Nagar (SDMC)
  • Sartaj Ahmed contesting from Chauhan Banger (EDMC)
  • Sabra Malik contesting from Mustafabad (EDMC)
  • Famudin Safi contesting from Delhi Gate (NDMC)

AAP Candidates
  • Abhinav Mishra, 24-year-old candidate contesting from Rohini Sector 15
  • Leena Asiwal, 21-year-old candidate from Vikaspuri
  • Devender Tanwar
  • Naren Bhiku Ram Jain contesting from Chandni Chowk ward
  • Aasma Masood, wife of Masood Ali Khan
  • Krishna Kumar Rathi contesting from the Rani Khera Ward
  • Ramesh Matiala contesting from Matiala ward
  • Sanjay Puri, former Congress councillor who joined AAP two years ago contesting from Janakpuri West
  • Mamata contesting from Holambi Khurd
  • Ankush Narang, convener of Delhi youth wing of AAP, contesting from west Patel Nagar
  • Pankaj Gupta contesting from Sangam Vihar (East)

Congress Candidates
  • Himanshu Pahuja, contesting from Pratap Nagar, was the youngest elected assembly president of the Youth Congress in Delhi in 2012
  • Praveen Massy, contesting from Mayur Vihar in Trilokpuri
  • Rahul Sharma, contesting from Hauz Khas
  • Rashmi Sharma, contesting from Raja Garden
  • Anuradha, contesting from Dwarka B (W)
  • Madhu Shokeen, contesting from Vikaspuri

No comments:

Post a Comment